Home 5 Academics 5 Cambridge Upper Secondary (IGCSE) Grade 9 To 10



Cambridge Upper Secondary is typically for learners aged 14 to 16 years which builds on the foundation of the Cambridge Lower Secondary.

Cambridge IGCSE provides a broad and balanced study across a plethora of subjects, using learner-centred and enquiry-based approaches to teaching and learning.

Cambridge International Certificate in Education (ICE) is awarded to candidates who pass in at least seven Cambridge IGCSE subjects, including two from Group 1 and one from each of Groups 2 to 5. The seventh subject may be chosen from any of the syllabus Groups 2 to 5.

Students must have minimum of 6 subjects (Excluding Drama, Physical Education & Global Perspectives) to apply to colleges in India. The subject(s) will be offered only if there are a minimum of 10 takers. The school may use its discretion to change / drop a subject.

Best IGCSE Schools in Pune

For Learners
Aged 14 to 16

GROUP 1-A – Languages
(1st, 2nd & Foreign)

  • First Language English
  • OR
  • First Language English

GROUP 1-B – Languages
(1st, 2nd & Foreign)

  • Hindi as a Second Language
  • OR
  • Foreign Language French
  • OR
  • Foreign Language Spanish

GROUP 2 – (Humanities &
Social Sciences)

  • Literature in English
  • Economics
  • Environmental Management#
  • History
  • Geography
  • Cambridge Global Perspectives(as the 7th subject) # *

GROUP 3 – (Sciences)

  • Biology
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental Management #

GROUP 4 – (Mathematics)

  • Mathematics – International (Compulsory)
  • Mathematics – Additional (This is a performance based selection)

GROUP 5 – (Creative & Professional)

  • Art & Design
  • Business Studies
  • Accounting
  • Cambridge Global Perspectives (as the 7th subject)#*
  • Computer Science
  • Information & Communication Technology
  • Physical Education (as the 7th subject)*
  • Music
  • Drama (as the 7th subject)*

Environmental Management can be counted as either a Group 2 or a Group 3 subject and Cambridge Global Perspectives (as a seventh subject) can be counted as either Group 2 or Group 5 but not both.

Kindly note that these subjects are not currently recognized by the Indian Universities.